Orange Make up – Eek or Chic?

I make no secret of the fact that I’m a big fan of corals and peaches but ORANGE, is that a step too far? As we know it was a huge look at the Spring/Summer 2011 catwalks, but can it translate for real people living real lives?

With celebs including Fergie, Scarlett Johansson and  Chloe Sevingy embracing tangerine trend, it looks like it’s working its way down the food chain, so should we get ready?

The thought of wearing orange or neon make up in general conjures up not so fond memories of scrunchies and cycling shorts, but in my attempt to overcome the 80s trauma I’m ready to give it a go… are you?

Starting with nails

I’m rocking Nails Inc’s Candy Orange nail polish today (courtesy of InStyle magazine) which looked pretty funky at home when I was applying it, but today in the outside World, I’m worried I look like I’ve coloured them in with a highlighter pen.  Still, they’re bright, bold and oh so eye catching and for summer, I think they fit right in.

That’s a thumbs up for the nails (I think) but zesty eyes and lips may be a step too far; That I’ll leave to models, teenagers and Top of the Pops 2.

The good…

Fendi Spring Summer 11

The bad…

Not so Fergilicious

If you’re feeling brave, here’s my top punpkin picks.

Illamasqua Toxic Nature Collection Lipstick in Flare £15.50

MAC lipstick in Neon Orange £13.50

Leave a Reply

