Nars Turkish Delight Lipgloss, not so delightful?

I’m prepared for some serious backlash when I say this… but I’m starting to think that Nars products are seriously over rated!!?!? I thought this after I bought the Laguna Bronzer (and it crumbled to bits after two minutes), I especially thought it when I got their world famous ORGASM blusher and now I’ve branched out to their lip glosses, I KNOW IT! I’m not saying that they aren’t good, I’m just saying they’re hyped to hell and don’t live up to my expectations.

Like the Laguna Bronzer and Orgasm blusher, Turkish Delight lipgloss is another of their “It” products with a celeb and cult following – Apparently a favourite of Kim Kardashian. Like Kim I LOVE pretty pink and nude lips, so I expected this to tick all the boxes.

The colour I love. It’s a milky, baby pink – more like candy floss than Turkish delight.

It’s well pigmented but it’s semi-sheer, meaning you have to apply quite a lot if you want to achieve the bottle colour. I think it’s best teamed with a pale lipstick like Mac’s Angel.  It’s very comfortable to wear, not at all sticky, but my main gripe with this product is its lack of staying power. It lasts two minutes – you find yourself having to reapply frequently. Oh and it doesn’t smell too good.

I know it sounds like I’m complaining for the sake of it, I do like the lipgloss – it’s a great colour, but at this price point (UK retail price £18) it could do better, correction SHOULD do better. I’ll enjoy wearing it, but there’ll be no repeat purchase.

I find it’s quite similar to Revlon’s Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Peach Petal which I love. It has a similar creamy texute and milky finish, but lasts longer and is a snip at £6.99.

5 thoughts on “Nars Turkish Delight Lipgloss, not so delightful?

  1. HIya i was just looking at this, and i wondered maybe that your colouring is more warm than pink, Here the peach looks loevly against your skin, maybe you should stick to peaches? i bet the peach one looks a treat on you! In kims picture its more of a peachy nude than pink.
    I can’t see why NARS would call a lipgloss turkish delight. the stuffs horrid. ergghh

    • Thanks, I think you’re right, I seem to suit peachy colours. Shame it’s only really this year that I’ve experimented with them. The Revlon gloss is a great buy, there’s a small, but good selection of colours.

      I hate turkish delight too, it’s always the one left in a box of chocolate :)

      What glosses would you recommend?

      • I’m not really into glosses they feel so gloopy on me… I’m more into my Clarins Instant smooth lip balm at the minute because even though its a lip balm it changes colour to match your skin tone and after the moisture sinks into your lips your left with colour on your lips and none of the mess. I got crystal coral think i’m gonna get the red one too…

  2. Well, I guess I’m in contrast to the commenter above, but I think that shade looks really nice on you! I came here via a google image search, and I seriously only decided to comment after seeing how good it looked against your skin. :)

Leave a Reply

